I set off my alarm twice in the past week. I've been living in this house for over 6 months and I've never done that. It's probably the loudest noise that I've ever heard. And it's the loudest at the keypad where you have to turn OFF the alarm, so you basically lose all function for lack of hearing, and it takes twice as long to turn the stupid thing off. That combined with the fact that I set them off at 7:30 in the morning. The first time I got it turned off fast enough that the security people didn't call. Next morning, not so lucky.
"ADT Security calling, is everything alright?"
"Yes, thank you, I'm fine."
"Can I have your security code?"
"Sure, it's **********"
"No mam, that's not it."
Excuse me? Is this lady serious? It's 7:30 in the morning, my dog has to pee, I have to pee, and she's telling me my security code isn't right?
"I don't know what else it would be, that's what I set my code as when I signed up for your service."
"Well, mam, why don't you look at the folder that we gave you when we set you up and see if you can find your personal identification number, which we can use."
"Look lady, I'm exhausted, I have to go the bathroom, my dog is taking steroids for her horrific wheezing which could be asthma, or even worse, tracheal collapse, and they make her have to pee all the time, so I can't go looking for that right now, b/c I have BETTER THINGS TO DO!"
Ok, so I didn't say that. But I wanted to. Instead...fine, sure. I'll just go through my house, turing on all the lights, ignoring my dog who's doing an awfully frightening steroid-induced pee-dance, looking for this form. I get into the study where I keep all my folders and the cats materialize out of nowhere, begging for food. I ignore them. Bad idea. Pyper tries to get in the file drawer, while Gidget is walking all over my desk, staring at me. Ok, found the folder, found the PIN, changed the password, thanked the lady for ruining my morning, fed the cats, let the dog out, let myself out, and started the day.
Headed to Mississippi this long weekend to visit Derek and force him to go shopping for his place. I'm excited. He's not. I don't really care though, I love shopping. So, Juno and I are headed out after this horrendous morning is over.
By the way, Juno is doing much better! The steroids are working, so it seems like an allergy problem. She hasn't had a wheezing episode since Monday, and she's back to her old self. Keep your fingers crossed that we've seen the end of it.


I wonder if the future pet owners that will be our future clients have any idea of what their trusted veterinarian did in class first year. And in our defense, I say, if they had any, ANY idea of what we have to go through on a daily basis, maybe they would pardon our behavior. Today was the first day that I broke down and surfed the internet during class. And I was proud of that! And again, in my defense, I was productive. I checked my e-mail, read about the years worst dressed stars, surfed facebook, and shopped for a book online. Hey, that's better than my online beer pong game playing that went on last semester. Trust me, it's addictive. By the way, the above picture is taken with IBooth on a Mac computer. It's fantastic and extremely entertaining. It passed the time in class last semester. I always wonder what the professor was thinking as we gooned at the computer. 